42 awards given at the 2022 Student Organization Awards


Throughout the past year, student organizations have given life to IUPUI’s campus through meaningful and exciting events. Despite continued COVID-19 restrictions, student organizations worked hard to organize campus-approved events that allowed members to connect in a safe environment. There were 42 different awards this past year, each one recognizing the impact that organizations and the students who run them have on the IUPUI community.

Student Programming Specialist Hanna Brown emphasized that the Student Organizations Awards celebrate the positive impact these organizations have on IUPUI’s campus.

"We wanted to acknowledge the hard work student organizations put in to help bring back student life to campus," Brown said. "Many of the students this year went above and beyond to foster that sense of community during a really hard time."

Below is a list of the winners.

Student Organization Winners

These awards are given to celebrate the contributions of student organizations at IUPUI.

Best Online Prescence: DesiJags

Campus Community Impact Award: Ophthalmology Student Interest Group

Inclusivity Award: Sigma Psi Zeta Sorority, Inc.

Jaguar Pride Award: Jagathon: IUPUI’s Dance Marathon

Most Dedicated Club Sport: Men’s Rugby Club

Most Improved Student Organization: Sports Management Club at IUPUI

Most Promising New Student Organization: Biomedical Graduate Student Advocacy Association

Outstanding Multicultural Student Organization: Myanmar Student Organization

Outstanding Registered Student Organization: VIDA Health Partnerships

Outstanding Community Service and Outreach: Ophthalmology Student Interest Group

IUPUI's Men's Rugby Club was awarded Most Dedicated Club Sport.  Photo credit: @iupuimensrugby

Student Organization Program Awards

These awards are given to recognize the impact of student organization programs.

Outstanding Campus Program of the Year: Jagathon: IUPUI’s Dance Marathon

Outstanding Collaborative Program of the Year: Myanmar Student Organization

Outstanding Educational Program of the Year: Student Design Organization

Outstanding Social Entertainment Program of the Year: Myanmar Student Organization

Outstanding Philanthropic Program of the Year: Jagathon: IUPUI’s Dance Marathon

Jagathon was recognized for several awards, including Outstanding Campus Program of the Year and Outstanding Philanthropic Program of the Year. Liz Kaye, IUPUI

Student Organization Leader Awards

These awards showcase the impact of student organization leaders.

Advocacy Leadership Award: Monica Tuimuk

Distinguished Graduate Student Leader: Apurva Bendre

Distinguished Undergraduate Student Leader: Garrett Tiberi

First Year Student Involvement Award: Parampreet Kaur

IFC Man of the Year: David Zachary Woods (Phi Gamma Delta)

MCGC Member of the Year: Rexella Abaigar (Sigma Psi Zeta Sorority Inc.)

Multicultural Student Leader Award: Monica Tuimuk

Legacy Award: Gamma Zeta Chapter, Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.

FSL Neophyte of the Year: Ginny Edwards (Sigma Psi Zeta Sorority, Inc.)

NPHC Woman of the Year: Chelsea Fitzpatrick (Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.)

Intrafraternity Council: David Zachary Woods (Phi Gamma Delta)

College Panhellenic Sororities: Breanna Dove (Alpha Chi Omega)

Multicultural Greek Council: Katherine Shr (Sigma Psi Zeta Sorority Inc.)

Panhellenic Woman of the Year: Breanna Dove (Alpha Chi Omega)

Rising Star Award: Alexa Monteilh

Student Leadership Award: Apurva Bendre

USG Committee Member of the Year: Kavin Thakkar

USG Legislative Author of the Year: Kavin Thakkar

USG Verbal Ambassador of the Year: Kavin Thakkar

Unsung Hero Award: Kat Thomas

Values in Action Award: Kaneise Mitchell-Casey (Sigma Psi Zeta Sorority, Inc.)

Visionary Leadership Award: Monica Tuimuk

Advisor Awards

These awards highlight the importance of student organization advisors who go above and beyond in assisting student organizations to reach their full potential.

Outstanding New Advisor of the Year: Rachel Swinford

Outstanding Advisor of the Year: Arthur Farnsley

Distinguished Advisor of the Year: Eric Teske

Andrea Anderson Outstanding Award: Yolanda Evora Snowden

Outstanding FSL Chapter Advisor: Eric Teske

To learn more about the student organizations offered at IUPUI, visit The Spot.